Salem, MA

Alright, time for a post that’s not about Spain 🙂

This past weekend my friend and old Spanish roomie came up for a visit to Boston. We were lucky enough to experience some perfectly wonderful autumn weather while she was here, with crisp air, a warm breeze, and beautiful trees in hues of oranges and reds…I love New England falls!  We explored the city together with pitstops at all the necessary places (such as Georgetown Cupcakes), but we also ventured out to a different Massachusetts town: Salem. October is the perfect time to visit this spooky city, as they truly embrace the fall season and the spirit of Halloween.

Alexandria and I took the commuter rail out to Salem, which was a surprisingly short trip of just under thirty minutes.  When we got there, we had a little trouble stumbling upon the historical landmarks we felt we ought to see, but we soon made our way into the hub of it all.  Since we were in the town close to nightfall, many of the museums were closed, but we still saw our fair share of fortune tellers, ghost tours, cemeteries, and shops.  One of my favorite views was actually the ships down at the Bay, which is an area that was set apart from the hustle and bustle of the center of town.  I always love seeing ships out on the water, and there was something especially pretty about it at night ❤

Speaking of hustle and bustle, however, we did visit the Haunted Happenings Carnival!  We only went on the ferris wheel, but that was actually fine by me because it turns out that ride is scarier than I remember.  We also got an elephant ear, and I was reminded of just how much I love carnivals – why are there not more of them??

Although we only spent part of the day in Salem, it was a town that I would recommend to Massachusetts visitors.  I know that we only scratched the surface, and I’m sure that there are many more nooks and crannies to be explored!

Leave a Reply

